If I use someone’s NETFLIX account, will they know?

Binge-watching popular movies and TV shows on Netflix is a common pastime among most people. 

But, using someone else’s Netflix account to watch your fave shows or films is no less than an adventure, especially when you are logging in without their permission. You may often have a question- if I use someone’s Netflix account, will they know? Is it legal to use someone’s Netflix account with or without their permission? What can they do if they find out you have been using their Netflix account? 

Continue reading to know the answers.

Will Netflix notify the other person when you use their account?

Yes, they will get an email from Netflix informing them that there has been a new sign-in to their account. The streaming service also informs its users about the number of unauthorized login attempts. 

Another way they can know is that when they login to their Netflix account, a pop-up may appear stating, “Your account is in use on another device” or “Too many people using your account.” Now, this possibility may differ, suppose the other person has opted for the basic plan, only one device can view the content simultaneously. The limit increases to 2 and 4 devices for standard and premium packages, respectively. So whenever the limit to watch Netflix content gets exceeded, the account owner may see the pop-ups.

They can also get to know by looking at recently viewed shows and movies since they might differ from what they watched last.

So, if they know you and are cool with you using their account, then it’s not a big deal. In case if they don’t know you or are not comfortable with you using their account, then there’s a possibility that they can take action to protect their account.

Is it legal to use another person’s Netflix account with or without their permission?

If you are wondering whether using someone’s Netflix account is allowed, yes, it is, although Netflix’s policy mentions that it is not to be shared. Reed Hastings, Netflix’s CEO, indicated that it is perfectly OK and urged everyone to do the same. It attracts numerous new subscribers as once someone gets habituated, they are highly inclined to create their account. But remember, it’s only ethical when the other person has shared their login details with their consent and has no issue with you using their Netflix.

The Netflix plans offer a limited number of screenings at a time. This implies that they will know that someone is using their account if the limit exceeds. So, if they don’t know you and you are watching Netflix content through their account, then there’s a possibility you may not be able to watch their Netflix the next time. 

What can they do if they find unauthorized access to their Netflix account?

The first thing they can do is go to their settings and sign out of all the connected devices. Next, they can change their password, so the unauthorized user cannot access their Netflix account. They can also find your IP address by looking at their recent device streaming activity. The other person can take help from the Netflix customer support team as well to resolve the issue.

About Netflix:

Netflix is a subscription-based video streaming app that permits its users to view original shows, films, etc., on any smart device without any ad breaks. Netflix videos differ significantly by area and are subject to revision. Famous Netflix original series, TV programs, films, documentaries, and even more are available to stream.

Based on what type of content you watch on Netflix, it recommends similar kinds of shows and movies that you may like. 

Netflix offers various plans to its audience so that they can subscribe to any package that suits their needs. Moreover, Netflix allows its users to cancel their subscriptions whenever they want.

All the devices which are internet-connected can use the Netflix App. You can also use your PC to sign in to your Netflix account on its official website using the internet browser.

Conclusion:

If you are a family member or a friend of the other person, you can go to your profile (which they must have set up in their account for your use) and binge-watch Netflix. But if you are unknown to the other person and if you are using their account, it might create trouble for you. Thus, it’s better that you create your personal account on Netflix and watch it whenever and wherever you want.


Additional read: How Netflix is changing Television Industry

Leave a Comment